Please give me my files back

Hey there,

I really like your applications. I’ve been using Vectornator (Curve) for about 4 years now and Move since it came out. I have created many files over the years, but since I only use your apps for school and personal projects, I’m unwilling to pay nearly 100€ a year for using them once or twice a month at most. It’s just not worth it for any user who isn’t making money with the use of your apps.

I often wondered how such great apps could be free, and I’m definitely willing to spend money on those apps, but just not in the form of a subscription. I understand that you want and need to make money, and I don’t even have a problem with a premium tier if you just give me back the functionality that was there until now. I don’t mind not getting the latest features and updates, but to take my files away from me and urge me to pay money regularly just to open them seems very harsh. I haven’t even updated Curve by now, just to retain access to my files.

Maybe you could have made the apps just paid apps, like the Affinity bundle, or just make a premium tier with more features like Goodnotes 6. Apparently, those payment concepts work, but you chose a way where you take away a feature from the user that is essential and was obviously there all along. I’m not a psychologist, but loss is a much worse feeling than missing out.

For me personally, I will probably have to learn how to use OpenToonz and use Affinity Designer more often, despite both of those being far less accessible. Maybe you can grant us users access to more than three files in the future.

Thank you
Bernhard

Hey Bernhard,

Thanks a lot for sharing your thoughts with us. Your support over the years means a lot to us. We totally get where you’re coming from with the whole subscription thing. We did the switch to provide continuous access to our evolving features, updates, and support.

Here’s the lowdown on what’s up with your files and the new plans: